Although it's obvious these maps are "trashy" myself and others really like these maps for the unique locations and nostalgia. So I don't think it would be a good idea just to completely get rid of the maps. (But I do agree that the builds are rather old and in poor quality)
I'm pretty sure but can your world just be single player until you share it? It doesn't have to be on a private server correct? Just making sure before I get to far with the map XD...
-Thanks,
Maybe a revamp of the map to improve the quality of the build would be a good idea. But the people of the server love that map too much to just have it removed.